The international speedway season closes with a very exciting week for Denmark. As you know, the World Cup will be decided on October 5, but already on Saturday, Denmark can win the European metal. After the victory in Vojens - and Nicki Pedersen's injury - Mikkel Michelsen emerges as the first challenger to the leading Russian Grigory Laguta.

By Ib Søby

As can be seen from the overall European Championship position, there are also medal chances for Micheal Jepsen Jensen and Leon Madsen if the race's development is in their direction. They are just three and four points from the immediate 3rd place held by Mikkel Michelsen before the start Saturday night at. 18.00.

As last year, the European Cup decision was made to the huge Slaski Stadium in the Katowice suburb of Chorzow, Poland. It was here that Leon Madsen secured the European Championship title, which gave him both the international breakthrough and access to the grand prix series, where he has this year marked himself in the most surprising way.

Slaski Stadium & #8211; Photo: One Sport

The iconic stadium is teeming with Polish and international speedway with plenty of World Cup finals over the years, and often with up to 100,000 audiences. After a major renovation, the stadium, which is in connection with a major sports park, was reopened in 2017.

With the victory in Vojens in August, Mikkel Michelsen showed that he has the format to go all the way. Also remember that Grigory Laguta scored "only" seven points in Vojens, and thus has not maintained a stable bottom level in this year's European Championship campaign. But of course, in these calculations you should not forget the two Poles Bartosz Smektala and Kacpar Woryna. They will receive great support from the audience at Slaski Stadium.

In addition to the medal distribution, the cash fact also lurks that the top five in the European Championships are guaranteed a place in next year's edition. It is an important carrot, because there is no doubt that the EM series is kind of a little brother to the grandprix series, but it is gaining more and more attention and attention.

An injury-free Anders Thomsen is the fourth Dane in Saturday's starting lineup. He has nothing to contend with in the overall position, but as a name on the doorstep of the Grand Prix series, Thomsen would like to show off his great talent on Saturday.


1. Grigory Laguta, RUS 34

2. Nicki Pedersen, DAN 33 & #8211; hurt

3. Mikkel Michelsen, DAN 30

4. Bartosz Smektala, POL 29

5. Kacpar Woryna, POL 29


6. Micheal Jepsen Jensen, DAN 27

7. Leon Madsen, DAN 26

8. Kai Huchkenbeck, TYS 22

9. Jaroslaw Hampel, POL 19

10. Vaclav Milik, TJK 17

19. Anders Thomsen, DAN 6

SEC European Champions:

2012: Ales Dryml, Jr., Czech Republic

2013: Martin Vaculik, Czech Republic

2014: Emil Saytfudinov, Russia

2015: Emil Saytfudinov, Russia

2016: Nicki Pedersen, Denmark

2017: Andzejs Lebedevs, Latvia

2018: Leon Madsen, Denmark

From 2001 to 2011, the European Championships were organized by UEM with the following winners: Bohumil Brhel, Czech Republic, Magnus Zetterstrøm, Sweden, Kryzstof Kasprzak, Poland, Matej Zagar, Slovenia, Jesper B. Monberg, Denmark, Kryzstof Jablonski, Poland, Jurica Pavlic, Croatia, Matej Zagar, Slovenia, Renat Gafurov, Russia, Sebastian Ulamek, Poland and Grigory Laguta, Russia

Latest news


Holsted wins DM-Team at Vojens Speedway Center - Photo: www.cilius.com In an exciting and captivating Superfinal, it was the Holsted Tigers who secured the club's - impressive - 15th Danish team title. SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedway took silver in front of Slangerup Speedway ...

Speedway on Landevejen

Motorists, cyclists and pedestrians throughout Denmark will soon be able to see a rolling advertisement for Vojens Speedway Center. In an untraditional agreement with the transport company AutoBude A / S, a truck trailer will drive about 100,000 kilometers a year with a large ...


The continuous rain shower over Vojens Speedway Center led, on Wednesday 18 August, to a cancellation of the match between SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedway and Region Varde Elite Sport. In collaboration between the Sports Commission under the Danish Motor Union and the two ...


Mikkel Michelsen wins 3rd round of SEC 2021 - Photo: Lasse Lagoni The Danish European champion in speedway Mikkel Michelsen - who turns 27 on Thursday - receives a welcome birthday present from WC organizer BSI / IMG. Michelsen has been awarded a wildcard for this year's Danish World Cup ...

Share on social media