Anders Thomsen - Photo: Frank Cilius

Defending Danish champion Anders Thomsen is ready for Wednesday's individual DM final in Holsted, despite the crash last week at Vojens Speedway Center, where he collided with Grand Prix colleague Mikkel Michelsen.

By Ib Søby

Despite severe pain in the neck and shoulder, Anders Thomsen drove on Sunday afternoon at Edward Jancarz Stadium, where he scored 9 + 1 points when he and Gorzow beat Worclaw in the best Polish league.

- Yes, but it also cost a whole Monday, where I lay along. But in general I have received good treatment at a clinic in Gorzow, and I feel ready for the task in Holsted, says Anders Thomsen.

- I would not compete at all if I did not feel that I have a good chance of becoming Danish champion for the 3rd time in a row.

Anders Thomsen does not remember the details of the gruesome crash with Mikkel Michelsen during SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedways match against Slangerup Speedway Klub.

- I probably hit right in the assembly of two sections of the Air Force, and accidentally bumped into the barrier, but I am also grateful that the injuries did not get worse, says Anders Thomsen, who is also looking forward to the meeting with the field at Moldow Arena in Holsted .

- It is a super good course that suits me well.

Mikkel Michelsen, who is suffering from a leg injury from the same crash, will not be in action on Wednesday, where he will be replaced by Lasse Bjerre.

Both Thomsen and Michelsen have a strong focus on Saturday's 4th division of the world championship, which is run on Thomsen's Polish home field in Gorzow.

SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedway also has Nicolai Klindt and Jonas Knudsen in the DM final which starts at. 18.30 

Buy tickets for DM Finale 2022 |

Latest Danish champions:

2000: Brian Karger

2001: Hans Clausen

2002: Nicki Pedersen

2003: Nicki Pedersen

2004: Bjarne Pedersen

2005: Nicki Pedersen

2006: Nicki Pedersen

2007: Hans Andersen

2008: Nicki Pedersen

2009: Nicki Pedersen

2010: Kenneth Bjerre

2011: Nicki Pedersen

2012: Niels Kr. Iversen

2013: Niels Kr. Iversen

2014: Niels Kr. Iversen

2015: Niels Kr. Iversen

2016: Niels Kr. Iversen

2017: Niels Kr. Iversen

2018: Niels Kr. Iversen

2019: Kenneth Bjerre

2020: Anders Thomsen

2021: Anders Thomsen

Most DM titles

12 Ole Olsen

7 Niels Kr. Iversen and Nicki Pedersen

6 Hans Nielsen

5 Erik Gundersen

4 Kurt W. Petersen

3 Kiehn Bertelsen, Brian Karger and Orla Knudsen

Latest news


Mikkel Michelsen crashed with Anders Thomsen - both drivers dropped out. Photo: Frank Cilius Two of Denmark's Grand Prix stars, Anders Thomsen and Mikkel Michelsen, clashed in a violent crash in the very first heat of tonight's showdown between SES - Sønderjylland Elite ...


Kai Huckenbeck leads towards Slangerup - 2021 at Vojens Speedway Center - Photographer: Frank Cilius On Wednesday evening, Vojens Speedway Center offers a new, and probably close and nerve-wracking, showdown between SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedway and Slangerup Speedway Klub. It is...


Photo: Frank Cilius With a 2nd place in the very last heat, Anders Thomsen ensured that SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedway could breathe a sigh of relief and win 43-41 at home over Region Varde Elitesport. Mads Hansen was again the top scorer for SES By Ib Søby The match between ...


Photo: Anders Thomsen (left) and Jonas Knudsen (right) - Frank Cilius For the first time, SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedway and Region Varde Elite Sport meet in the Speedway League. SES is in 2nd place while the Westerners - in 3rd place - come up with two interesting ...

Share on social media