Anders Thomsen - photo: Frank Cilius

It is the first time that FIM Speedway Of Nations visits Vojens, where a total of 15 countries are fighting for the world championship for teams. Each nation nominates a squad of up to five riders now before selecting a starting squad of three riders up six days before their semi-final, and where the finalists select their final trio the day before the World Cup final

The Danish boss Hans Nielsen selects all three of his Speedway GP drivers for his FIM SON Final squad - Leon Madsen, Mikkel Michelsen and Anders Thomsen. The new Danish champion Rasmus Jensen and Frederik Jakobsen have also been nominated.

The reigning champions of Great Britain are bringing back all four of their 2021 title-winning heroes, triple world champion Tai Woffinden and his Speedway GP rivals Robert Lambert and Dan Bewley, plus Tom Brennan. Reigning British champion Adam Ellis completes the Lions squad.

Last year's silver winners Poland mention double world champion Bartosz Zmarzlik, plus Speedway GP drivers Maciej Janowski and Patryk Dudek in their squad. Quadruple Polish champion Janusz Kolodziej and rising star Dominik Kubera complete the list of triple silver medalists.

Australia mentions two world champions on their squad list, Jason Doyle and Chris Holder. Chris' younger brother Jack and his Speedway GP rival Max Fricke also make the five, with former Australian champion Brady Kurtz completing team manager Mark Lemon's selection.

France nominates two of the three drivers who led them to their first FIM SON final in 2021, David Bellego and Dimitri Berge. Former FIM long distance world champion Mathieu Tresarrieu completes their list of three riders.

Another finalist for the first time in 2021 was Latvia, and they name a squad with all three drivers who fired them to Manchester - Andzejs Lebedevs, Olegs Mihailovs and Francis Gusts. They are listed together with Yevgeny Kostigov and Daniils Kolodinskis.

Swedish boss Morgan Andersson has named national speedway hero Fredrik Lindgren on his five-man list, as world No. 5 is struggling to regain his fitness after a long battle with long Covid. He joins forces with the new Swedish champion Oliver Berntzon, Jacob Thorssell, Pontus Aspgren and Kim Nilsson.

Ukraine makes a very welcome appearance on the FIM SON stage, despite the current situation facing the country, which has left older members of the squad unable to occupy their usual league places in Poland if they are required to serve in the Ukrainian army.

Only the young Marko Levishyn has been able to continue his career in Poland this year, driving for Czestochowa's PGE Ekstraliga U24 team and the first division team Krosno. Former Speedway GP first reserve Oleksandr Loktaev, Andriy Karpov, Vitalii Lysak and Stanislav Melnychuk join him in Ukraine's squad.

The Germans are led into action by FIM German Speedway GP wild card Kai Huckenbeck. He joins the two-time former FIM world champion in long distance Erik Riss, Norick Blodorn, Michael Hartel and Valentin Grobauer.

Slovakia makes its debut in FIM SON, where the country's Speedway GP hero Martin Vaculik leads Jakub Valkovic and Patrik Buri into an exciting week for the growing speedway nation.

Buy tickets here - billetlugen.dk

Vaclav Milik heads a young but talented list in the Czech Republic with SGP2 trio Jan Kvech, Petr Chlupac and Daniel Klima, with Eduard Krcmar completing their side.

The new USA boss, Steve Evans, chooses a team that includes Luke Becker, Broc Nicol, Ricky Wells and the brothers Dillon and Max Ruml.

The Finnish team features SGP2 driver Timi Salonen as well as Timo Lahti, Jesse Mustonen, Antti Vuolas and Niklas Sayrio.

The Slovenes mention the same three riders who represented them in 2021 - Matic Ivacic, Nick Skorja and Anze Grmek.

Italian boss Alessandro Dalla Valle is also convening a squad of three, including former FIM GP Challenge finalist Nicolas Covatti, Paco Castagna and Daniele Tessari.

Speedway of Nations kicks off semifinal 1 on Wednesday 27th July with eight-time FIM Speedway World Cup winners, Poland, plus Australia, Latvia, Germany, USA, Ukraine and Finland.

Great Britain launches its title defense in semi-final 2 on Thursday 28 July, where they will face Sweden, France, the Czech Republic, Slovenia, Italy and Slovakia.

SON2 will take place for the sport's U21 team on Friday 29 July, including the hosts Denmark, the 2021 FIM Team Speedway U21 world champions Poland, Great Britain, Australia, Sweden, the Czech Republic and Latvia.

The three best teams from each semi-final will then join the host nation Denmark in the FIM SON final on Saturday 30 July, where the world team champions in 2022 will be chosen.

François Ribeiro, head of Discovery Sports Events, commented: “The excitement is rising for FIM SON and it's great to see four former Speedway GP world champions and 14 of this year's 15 Speedway GP riders on the team lists.

 - At Discovery Sports Events, our vision for FIM SON was always to gather fans from 15 nations in one place for four fantastic days of entertainment - a real festival both on and off the field.

- The hosts Denmark will chase their first FIM SON gold medal, but 14 other nations share this dream and the competition will be extremely tough.

 -We are pleased to work with the very experienced team at Vojens Speedway Center to deliver this historic week. We thank them for stepping in as host at such a late time, after our organizer in Esbjerg resigned, and it is a pleasure to bring the first FIM SON in this new era during Discovery Sports Events to Vojens, says François Ribeiro.

Latest news

Leon Madsen vælger SES – Sønderjylland Elite Speedway

Den 35-årige grandprix-stjerne og dobbelte VM-sølvvinder, har efter flytningen fra polske Gdynia til fødebyen Vejle, valgt at fortsætte sin danske karriere hos SES - Sønderjylland Elite Speedway. Hermed får Madsen hjemmebane på Vojens Speedway Center, hvor han i...


Den 28-årige Marcin Nowak bliver i 2024 indlemmet i truppen hos SES – Sønderjylland Elite Speedway. I 2023 var Nowak topscorer for Rzeszow, og en vigtig brik i klubbens oprykning til den polske 1. division, som er landets næstbedste række. Foto: Nowak, Facebook Af Ib...

Næste års danske VM Grand Prix køres 14. september

Over 14.000 ellevilde fans jublede da Leon Madsen vandt en sjælden dansk hjemmesejr på Vojens Speedway Center for to måneder siden. Fredag formiddag offentliggjorde Discovery Sports Events Grand Prix kalenderen for 2024, og det betyder, at verdenseliten gæster Vojens...


Støvet har knapt lagt sig efter sidste uges forrygende DM Hold Superfinale på Vojens Speedway Center, inden puslespillet omkring trupperne til SpeedwayLigaen 2024 er gået i gang. Ud over den dobbelte danske mester og grandprix-vinder Anders Thomsen, fortsættes den...

Share on social media